The Brick Academy houses a local history museum that features a permanent exhibit, What Put Somerset Hills on the Map; rotating exhibits of unique and interesting themes; handsomely framed, over-sized maps recreated from historical documents; and a full-sized replica of an 1890 schoolroom.
The museum is open the 1st Sunday of each month from 2-4pm. Group tours are available by appointment. Contact Us to schedule a group tour.
The main floor of the Brick Academy is also used for our Events and Programs. The main floor was restored with grant funding from the Somerset County Cultural and Heritage Commission.
Plaster Models of Grotesques for George B. Post’s City College Campus, New York
The museum at the Brick Academy will be open the first Sunday of each month beginning in June 2021. On display for the first time will be plaster maquettes of grotesques designed nearly 120 years ago by architectural firm George B. Post & Sons for the new Collegiate Gothic-style campus Post designed for the College of the City of New York (watch video).
The top floor of the Brick Academy houses a restored school room. The school room has been configured and decorated to interpret a c.1900 one-room classroom, with related exhibits on early local education. The Historical Society of the Somerset Hills restored the school room with two grants from the Somerset County Cultural and Heritage Commission.
Programs held in the school room are tailored to children/students of all ages.
The garden beds at the Brick Academy are planted and maintained with the generous assistance of Trustees of The Historical Society of the Somerset Hills and the Basking Ridge Garden Club.
Limited parking is available in the small parking lot adjacent to the Brick Academy. Additional parking is located along North and South Finley Avenue and in the municipal parking lot accessed from South Maple Avenue.